Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   How do I find what my gun likes? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/how-do-i-find-what-my-gun-likes-33829/)

redrover3569 11-01-2010 08:05 AM

How do I find what my gun likes?

I'm looking for opinions on a good way to go about finding out what ammo a new gun likes. For example: Should I buy small boxes of a few different kinds of ammo and load different mags with it and cycle through the mags say 3 times. Kind of a best of sort of thing to see which ones hold continuously good groups. How will I know what's ammo related and whats technique?

NGIB 11-01-2010 08:59 AM

Kind of depends on the gun in question. TBH, I haven't found much difference in name brand commercial FMJ ammo like WWB, Blazer, Federal, etc. I don't use the steel stuff like Wolf so I have no experience there. Self defense ammo is a whole different ball game as their are tons of different bullet designs from "flying ashtrays" to ammo that mimics FMJ - so a bit of testing is necessary. In general I've found Speer Gold Dots to be reliable in every gun I own. In my .45s (all 1911s) I use either Gold Dots or Cor-Bon PowRball...

FreedomFighter69 11-01-2010 10:11 AM

If the gun will handle a magazine full without any problems your usually good to go.
This is pertaining to feed and function. Accuracy wise it will take you about a month to find what your gun shoots best. That's a lot of rounds and wear and tear on your gun.
You'll also be spending a fortune ! Defensive ammo is double the price of standard or mil-spec ammo. When you find one that feeds well and shoots where you aim, stick with it.