Help me think this through..........
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Help me think this through..........

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2011, 09:24 PM   #1
RIP my good and faithful dog.
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 7141 Times on 4298 Posts
Likes Given: 8669

Default Help me think this through..........

When I go to the range, I like to shoot with my target as far out as it will go. When I shot with Hunter Joe, he set the targets at 7 yards. I've heard others say you want to shoot at a distance most common for self defense. Now, you all know I'm still learning so my logic might be wrong but it seems to me if I can hit a target at 25 yards or 50 yards I'm probably going to be able to hit a target at 7 yards. Why do I need to practice with a target so close. I like the challenge of trying to shoot well with my target way out there.

Please educate me. Thank you.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-10-2011, 09:30 PM   #2

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

You can do both! For self defense practice I shoot 5-10 yrds. sometimes I shoot up to 25yards, just depends on what I'm doing. Practicing for a defensive shoot or just punching holes.
Practicing for a defensive shoot would/could include drawing, reloading, failure dills,etc...

Old 05-10-2011, 09:32 PM   #3
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gojubrian View Post
You can do both! For self defense practice I shoot 5-10 yrds. sometimes I shoot up to 25yards, just depends on what I'm doing. Practicing for a defensive shoot or just punching holes.