Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Hangun hunting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2012, 03:23 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Hangun hunting

I'm new to the handgun section s I'm sure there are 100 threads like this so I apologize but what kind of game is pursued with handguns. I like revolvers better so what could I kill with a .38 special? .357mag? .44mag? Are any of these even hunting calibers?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-30-2012, 04:52 AM   #2

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

For hunting I would stick with the magnum rounds and preferably the .44 and up.

I know some people hunt hogs with these rounds. Not really sure what else to hunt with them, maybe varmints but that would probably be a little more difficult since they are a little more cautious to their surroundings.

Old 04-30-2012, 04:54 AM   #3

Liked 2369 Times on 1479 Posts
Likes Given: 51

44 mag is a good round. I have taken deer with 44 mag rounds.

Oh dern....

Revelation 19:11

And I saw heaven opened, and behold a white horse; and he that sat upon him was called Faithful and True, and in righteousness he doth judge and make war.

Old 04-30-2012, 09:34 AM   #4
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 8329 Times on 3601 Posts
Likes Given: 1281

Check the game laws in your state. I use 22 rimfire for squirrel and rabbit. I deer hunt with a .357 Magnum- BUT- that is a ten inch revolver, with heavy handloads. 44 Magnum and up is used for deer and pig.

What we have heah is.... failure to communicate.

Old 04-30-2012, 10:03 AM   #5

Liked 32 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 16