Guy at work insists revolvers are better for home defense? - Page 4
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Guy at work insists revolvers are better for home defense?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2012, 02:45 AM   #31
FAA licensed bugsmasher
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2334 Times on 1256 Posts
Likes Given: 842

Quote:
Originally Posted by charliegirl View Post
Shooting the $hit this morning and a guy at work shows me a pic of his new revolver, a S&W .357. In this conversation, he tells me that revolvers are better for home defense because they're faster to shoot because there's no slide to worry about, you just point and shoot. I'm fairly new to the gun world, but I disagree with him saying revolvers are better for home defense. Even with only a year's worth of experience, I mess around with my gun a lot and have gotten to where I can pick up, rack the slide to chamber a round all in the same fluid movement and it feels like second nature. Plus, you can always have a round already chambered.... am I missing something or are revolvers really better for home defense like he claims?
ugh... fanboys.
weeklyrant_fanboys_00.jpg  

Scott

Quote:
If you're not representing Jesus in a way that makes people want to hang out with you, you're doing it wrong.
Quote:
Those who refuse to participate in politics shall be governed by their inferiors. -Plato
Join the NRA

Old 03-14-2012, 03:21 AM   #32

Liked 813 Times on 621 Posts
Likes Given: 125

Default He's Right!

Revolvers are basically foolproof and failsafe. Hell, there isn't even a safety! And if a round fails to fire, pull the trigger again. I recommend these for relatively new and/or very infrequent shooters especially if they're women.

Shotgun: preferred.

My first bump-in-the-night go to: an 8+1 medium frame double-action military semi-auto in a holster w/a spare mag.

Old 03-14-2012, 06:43 AM   #33

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts