Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > gun store etiquette

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2012, 04:49 AM   #1
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 669 Times on 343 Posts

Default gun store etiquette

I am new to firearms for the most part with the exception of some shooting about two decades ago. I plan to purchase my first firearm in the next couple weeks and I don't want to be a complete moron when I do it. Background, I sell cars for a living, if someone walked in with a pile of money and told me they had never purchased a car before, it may not work out in their favor. I also believe in supporting the local guy. Generally speaking, are most local gun stores honest, can I negotiate? Also any other general etiquette pointers would be great.

I would love for my first gun to be a 9mm, but I worry my opportunity to purchase an AR may be more limited than my cash flow...

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-08-2012, 05:09 AM   #2

Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts

Some shops negotiate, if it's a chain, forget about it. If it looks "nice" probably not. They got too much overhead to pay for "nice". If there is a grip of employees, nope. Shop around man, it's your first purchase so take your time and finger bang every gun you get your hand on to get the one that FITS YOU. People can recommend all day long but YOU are the one that is buying it. Oh yeah, don't buy a high point. Do some shopping online to get prices, budsgunshop.com is a good place to get an idea what they should sell close to.