Groups at 50ft

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Groups at 50ft

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2010, 03:59 AM   #1
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 234 Times on 186 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default Groups at 50ft

I'm curious what type of groups some of you more seasoned shooters manage to keep at 15-20yds with centerfire handguns. I'd like to know what a more experienced shooter typically expects of themselves.

I'm pretty new to shooting (1 yr) and brand new to indoor range shooting. I had my first indoor range session this evening with the lanes set at 50ft, and shooting at an "official" 20yd NRA slow fire pistol target (10.5"x12" paper, 9" target, 3.75" inner target)...sorry, the digicam is on the fritz.

Here's where I'm at, don't laugh too hard...

CZ 75b 9mm: 100% on the paper, 90+% within the 9" circle, no further significant grouping.
XDM 45acp: not quite 100% on paper, about 80% within 9" circle, no further significant grouping.

So I guess at this range I'll have to claim bowling ball sized groups. Plinking at 4-6" targets at similar ranges seems easy enough to me, but when I go for grouping my lack of discipline and fundamentals becomes pretty evident. I guess more trigger time is needed.

Last edited by sweeper22; 08-11-2010 at 04:03 AM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-11-2010, 04:17 AM   #2

Liked 1803 Times on 1003 Posts
Likes Given: 1178