Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > A good handgun for beginner's?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2011, 01:54 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default A good handgun for beginner's?

I'm new to firearms and have always been wanting to get one for a long time. I have a specific interest in handguns, just as something to take to the local firing range to shoot off, get to know etc

So I was wondering if someone could make a suggestion? As I have very limited overall experience with firearms.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-15-2011, 02:19 AM   #2

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 2

What are you going to use it for? Practice & range only or will it double as a defensive firearm as well? If you're just wanting a firearm to learn how to shoot with, and since you have very limited experience with handguns, I'd recommend a .22. The .22 will serve you VERY well to train you with sight alignment & trigger control. The advantages of a .22 is very small report (noise) and almost non existent recoil. Also a .22 is cheaper to shoot than ANYTHING out there. A .22 WON'T serve very well as a defensive firearm however. Sure it's better than a sharp stick, but I wouldn't trust my life to 1.

If you want a bigger caliber or if it's going to serve as a defense gun as well, I'd recommend a good .357 revolver. With the .357 revolver you can use magnums for defense and plink with cheap, low recoiling .38 specials. I don't know of anybody that's willing to stand in front of you & let you shoot them with a .357.