Good first handgun - Page 6
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion >

Good first handgun

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2012, 01:27 AM   #51
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Likes Given: 1

Originally Posted by quickdrawmcgraw
I Was thinking of getting a handgun and I didn't know what was good for beginners. I have plenty of experience with rifles and shotguns but I haven't owned a handgun. This handgun would be for target practice and home defense. Would really appreciate some feed back
I'm new to this board, but I apologize for some of these posts. I tried to look back through the posts to see if I'd replied. I got sidetracked with the junk.

If you're going to buy a small .40, you'll very likely get a great concealable powerful pistol. I would recommend practicing with the .40 as much as possible. I would think you might want to rent a smoother (lighter) triggered gun that uses cheaper ammo for trigger practice. Since you're used to long guns, a revolver in .357 with .38's shouldn't bother you. A .22 pistol would be a good practice if the controls were essentially the same as the major calibre.

Gun control is hitting your target.
Old 02-13-2012, 03:02 AM   #52
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Liked 14 Times on 9 Posts

I am going to temper my reply with good tried and true common sense.
I and many others would agree that a 9 mm would be a minimum in caliber size for a primary combat weapon.

Yes there are many smaller calibers that are available but not with the proven track record of a 9mm ( most of the time getting the threat stopped quickly ) Bullet placement is key in all calibers.