Good first handgun
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Good first handgun

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2011, 08:01 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Good first handgun

I Was thinking of getting a handgun and I didn't know what was good for beginners. I have plenty of experience with rifles and shotguns but I haven't owned a handgun. This handgun would be for target practice and home defense. Would really appreciate some feed back

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-31-2011, 08:10 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1216 Times on 683 Posts
Likes Given: 513

Since you have some firearms experience, I would certainly check out a Ruger GP 100 .357 mag with a 4 or 6 inch barrel. .357 is good for HD, but can shoot .38 spl for less expensive range time.

Start with a wheel gun, then later add a pistol, such as a 1911, Springfield XD or a Glock. You can find an example of each of these in my safe.

Old 12-31-2011, 08:28 PM   #3

Liked 1958 Times on 1030 Posts
Likes Given: 4286

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gatoragn View Post
Since you have some firearms experience, I would certainly check out a Ruger GP 100 .357 mag with a 4 or 6 inch barrel. .357 is good for HD, but can shoot .38 spl for less expensive range time.

Start with a wheel gun, then later add a pistol, such as a 1911, Springfield XD or a Glock. You can find an example of each of these in my safe.