Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Glock. Its a love/hate thing... Why?!

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2013, 03:47 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

I'm new to any firearm forum and I've just been reading a bunch lately...

It seems people either love glock, or absolutely hate it...

I can understand why someone would love glock. I get it.

But I don't understand why people hate it...
I'm not a glock fan boy, I'm just curious as to why...

I hear a lot of talk about it being "Tupperware", but there are plenty of polymer guns out there..

And I guess you can hate it because there are less safeties...

....the only legitimate reason I see for hating glock is that they are ugly as HELL!

What's YOUR reason?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-26-2013, 03:55 PM   #2

Liked 1115 Times on 583 Posts
Likes Given: 49

Although I am firmly in the 1911 camp, I don't hate Glocks. I think they are an extremely reliable handgun, and the lack of a safety (other than the trigger safety) bothers me not at all. After all, most revolvers don't have safetys.

But I don't want one. Years ago I bought a Model 23 to see what all the hype on Glocks were about, shot it a few months, then sold it. Yes, to me it was ugly and had the "feel" of a brick, but the deal breaker for me was the long, heavy "squirt gun" trigger. I've been spoiled by the 1911.

It used to be said that the Glock was the gun for people who didn't like guns. Some of y'all here will understand this comment; some won't.