Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Frequency of cleaning

View Poll Results: Frequency of hand gun cleaning
After every firing session 47 88.68%
After every 1000 rounds or so 4 7.55%
About once a year 1 1.89%
If and when operation becomes erratic 1 1.89%
Voters: 53. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2009, 03:48 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

We were taught to clean our handguns after every 100 rounds or so. Since we are shooting at least that amount during most trips to the range, our guns end up being cleaned after every time we shoot them.

As Ineffable said, it's also a chance to become more familiar with your weapon, and practice safe handling skills. As a noob, I see that as an added benefit.

Dave

Old 02-01-2009, 01:45 AM   #12
WDB

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I always clean my firearms after shooting, they may not need it but logic tells me a cleaned and oiled firearm has less chance to jam or misfire. So the few minutes to clean is worth the time if I'm counting on that firearm to save me if I need it. Also it's a good chance to inspect your firearm for wear or damage.

Old 02-01-2009, 08:19 PM   #13

Likes Given: 1

I always clean after each session mainly since I don't know when I will use a parcticular gun again. There best kept clean, oiled, and ready for use. Besides most range sessions consist of surplus guns and ammo which due to corrosive components require immediate cleaning anyway. So since I've gotta get dirty, I might as well clean everything.

"THE CONSTITUTION ONLY GIVES PEOPLE THE RIGHT TO PURSUE HAPPINESS, YOU HAVE TO CATCH IT YOURSELF." ~BENJAMIN FRANKLIN.

Old 02-01-2009, 08:52 PM   #14
cbw

Gotta keep a clean machine, I don't care what some say, after shooting it I ALWAYS find grime. Break in apart, put her together, run some dummies, pipe a fresh real one in.

Old 02-02-2009, 03:48 PM   #15

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts