Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Do i need to break in my new Sig 229?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2010, 09:34 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Do i need to break in my new Sig 229?

Curious of how to properly break in a brand new gun. I just got a new Sig P229 e2 and was wanting to know if I even needed to break it in.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-15-2010, 11:07 PM   #2

Well, im not a expert but first i would break it down and wipe it down with a clean cloth. I say that because your new best friend has been sittin in a case for awhile waiting on you to buy. From the manufacturer to the gun shop, it probably got sum dust on it. Then, you will need to fire at least 500 rounds through it without any hiccups before u can say its reliable(considering its a sig i doubt u could deny its reliability) People say certain guns(like glocks) dont need a break-in period but i dont believe it and i love glocks.Anyways, after that you should be good to go

Old 10-16-2010, 12:18 AM   #3

so 500 rounds without breaking it apart and cleaning it?

Old 10-16-2010, 12:23 PM   #4

Liked 21 Times on 7 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by scherfinator View Post
so 500 rounds without breaking it apart and cleaning it?
No.

I clean my guns every time I fire any rounds and it's a good habit to start. The 500 rounds is a benchmark many use to "prove" reliability. Generally speaking, a Sig is not as likely to need a break in period as other brands are. For ANY new gun: