Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > cross-state transportation

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2012, 06:31 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default cross-state transportation

Just thought some of you guys might be able to help me out with the laws real quick. Im a GA resident as of August. I formerly lived in IL where I had a FOID card making it legal to own a weapon/ammo in the state of IL. I purchased a weapon in GA in October. By law nothing is required to own a gun in GA outside of an optional conceal carry permit, which I dont have. I am transporting my pistol from GA back to IL for the holidays in a suitcase in the backseat of the car. I didnt want to leave it in my house while I was away. My question is basically am I conducting this transportation legally and does my FOID card still apply even though I am technically not a resident of IL? I doubt the gun will leave the suitcase but I want to make sure.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-25-2012, 12:08 AM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 5249 Times on 2738 Posts
Likes Given: 331

if your not a illinoise resident foid doesnt apply to you unless you decide for some insane reason to move to illinoise. each city in that state has their own gun laws. chicago bans handguns hence all the handgun crime.

other cities allow em. the further you get from chittycago the less stupid the gun laws get. in illinoise to transport a firearm it has to be in a locked case in the trunk.