Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   cross-state transportation (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/cross-state-transportation-79308/)

arober1990 12-24-2012 06:31 PM

cross-state transportation

Just thought some of you guys might be able to help me out with the laws real quick. Im a GA resident as of August. I formerly lived in IL where I had a FOID card making it legal to own a weapon/ammo in the state of IL. I purchased a weapon in GA in October. By law nothing is required to own a gun in GA outside of an optional conceal carry permit, which I dont have. I am transporting my pistol from GA back to IL for the holidays in a suitcase in the backseat of the car. I didnt want to leave it in my house while I was away. My question is basically am I conducting this transportation legally and does my FOID card still apply even though I am technically not a resident of IL? I doubt the gun will leave the suitcase but I want to make sure.

JonM 12-25-2012 12:08 AM

if your not a illinoise resident foid doesnt apply to you unless you decide for some insane reason to move to illinoise. each city in that state has their own gun laws. chicago bans handguns hence all the handgun crime.

other cities allow em. the further you get from chittycago the less stupid the gun laws get. in illinoise to transport a firearm it has to be in a locked case in the trunk.

John_Deer 12-25-2012 12:27 AM

When I travel I stash my weapons in a FAA approved locked case in the trunk or in the toolbox in my truck. The reason I recommend an FAA case is you can check your weapons when you fly without any hassle. I have a concealed permit. State laws are easy to look up. But local ordinances are not so easy to look up. I would rather avoid the hassle.

arober1990 01-03-2013 05:26 PM