Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   Concealed Carry/Personal Defense Weapon (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/concealed-carry-personal-defense-weapon-53103/)

fp_23 12-06-2011 07:04 PM

Concealed Carry/Personal Defense Weapon

Im pretty new to handguns (own a 12 gauge shotty though) and im looking for something great for concealed carry/personal protection.

something small. reliable. great to use in a pinch. and durable.

small reliable and durable are most important to me.

I dont want something likely to jam or made of cheap materials.

Ive browsed online and the sig p238 seems good for its size but ive never owned a handgun previously. if it makes any difference im just a tad over 6ft tall and just under 200lbs.

i work a job where others may try to rob us at a moments notice...so i need to be safe and feel comfortable. something that can fit in my jeans/jacket, etc.

also something that is quick and easy to operate...nothing too complicated in terms of its design/functions.

any/all info appreciated.

MrWray 12-06-2011 07:27 PM

What about a commander size 1911 .45acp?

Alpha1Victor 12-06-2011 07:43 PM

I own a sig p238 and I have nothing but great things to say about it. I use it mainly when I go running in the mornings. My primary gun is a wilson combat cqb. Its a commander sized(4.25 in barrel). Not real hard to conceal and is arguably the best gun ever made. Referencing the 1911 platform.

Signing out, Alpha1victor.

fp_23 12-06-2011 08:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrWray (Post 644798)
What about a commander size 1911 .45acp?

What brand do you suggest?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alpha1Victor (Post 644810)