Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   Colt 45 (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/colt-45-a-1903/)

shadow669 09-06-2007 09:45 PM

Colt 45

If i have a colt 45, i'm tallkin about the one in here...
what cinda bullets do i need to have in order to use it?!
Can i buy them on ebay or something?
Im a total noob at this stuff...

And another question..
About silencers...
Where can i find a good guide, with pictures or somthin' about building one.. not for this gun tough(since its not completely possible by what i know according to one of the books) ..
There is books about silencers - but english is not my primary language, so its hard for me.

Thanks in advance.. And no, i'm not gonna kill any one.

cnorman18 09-07-2007 04:15 AM

the basics

Okay, first look at the gun and make sure it's marked ".45". Colt SAAs (Single Action Armies--that's what you've got there) and their clones have been made in LOTS of calibers besides .45.

If it is so marked, you'll need "bullets" marked ".45LC" or ".45 Long Colt". (Actually, they're called "cartridges"--the bullet is the lead tip that comes out of the barrel and makes holes in things.) You can buy them at any gun shop and at some big stores like Wal-Mart, or on the Web at these places and others:

http://www.midwayusa.com

http://www.ammoman.com/index.htm

My favorite:

http://www.doubletapammo.com/

Now, this is very important: make sure the gun isn't an old blackpowder one. There are ways to tell, but if you didn't buy it new, best to take it to a gunsmith and have him check it out. It's not safe to fire modern cartridges in old guns. Besides, some of thuse old guns are valuable collector's items and you wouldn't want to fire them anyway. Also, some very cheap copies of the Colt have been made, and some of those aren't safe to shoot at all.