Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   Chossing a hand gun (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/chossing-hand-gun-45903/)

SmithKid308 07-28-2011 08:24 AM

Chossing a hand gun

I need a hand gun that is for ever day open carry, and self defense. I was thinking a 1911 or Glock would those be to large for that purpose ?

winds-of-change 07-28-2011 08:52 AM

I am no expert by far, but choose whatever fits your hand and one that you can shoot well and feel comfortable handling.

What prompts you to want to open carry?

SmithKid308 07-28-2011 09:00 AM

My job as a (soon to be) small town gun store owner, that is what prompts me to open carry

danf_fl 07-28-2011 10:38 AM

Check out other gun shops.
I would bet that most do not open carry (but have a firearm within easy reach).

I'm not saying that is not a good idea, but some people (possible potential customers) may get the incorrect impression.

winds-of-change 07-28-2011 11:46 AM

The gun shop I frequent has a gun behind the counter that is loaded and ready. The employees may be carrying but not openly.

Jay 07-28-2011 12:06 PM