Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Can ballistics tell you the make and model of the gun a bullet came from?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2012, 02:14 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts

Default Can ballistics tell you the make and model of the gun a bullet came from?

Can ballistics tell you the make and model of a gun?
I was watching The Lincoln Lawyer and in it a person is shot with a 22 pistol, Matthew M. Says "good, so and so owned a 22" the cop says, "yeah, but it wasnt a woodsman, ballistics says it was a colt woodsman, an antique job."

They had no shell, just the bullet in the guy's head, even with the shell, it is a 22 LR with a dimpled primer, how can they tell? Thinking Hollywood Bs, but I'm no expert.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-06-2012, 02:31 AM   #2

Liked 698 Times on 448 Posts
Likes Given: 226

Yes, at least sometimes they can tell. Guns have many different kinds of rifling. Most often they can only tell the brand not the model.

Just walking on the edge of of my grave.

Old 03-06-2012, 02:45 AM   #3
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 8406 Times on 3642 Posts
Likes Given: 1299

Well, you can tell Colt from S&W (right hand S&W, Left hand Colt) identify Glocks (polygonal rifling) Can recognize NEW Marlin (microgroove) and distinguish between 1903 Springfield and an 03A3 (different number of grooves) and MAYBE a Carcano (gain twist rifling). 12 lands and grooves on a .38 is an FIE Titan Tiger. But there ARE limits.