Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Big Hands?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2012, 12:02 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 103 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 36

Default Big Hands?

I have been a student of the handgun for 3 years(but been shooting rifles my whole life)and no matter where I look to see how other people shoot,ie:you toob,websites(other than forums)etc,all I ever hear is "wrong","incorrect way to grip","outdated"etc etc etc.....Well,I have very wide palms,and whenever I hold a pistol the "correct"way,my support hand is a good 2" below the bottom of the grip and in a constant struggle to keep from "teacupping",and I more or less am in a teacup grip even though my support index finger is squeezed tight against the triggerguard.I have put my support index finger on the outside of the triggerguard to lift my support hand higher,but that didn't much either.What I have found out is that the only comfortable way to shoot and improve my accuracy is to cross my support thumb over my grip thumb and squeeze hard with my support hand thumb.This lets up on my trigger finger fatigue and simutaniously causes my support hand to rise to a better forward position because my thumb lifts my support hand automatically when I squeeze.The best part of this grip is that it works equally well with my automatics as well as my N frame revolver,and accuracy with both is better than I have ever had since I began with handguns.I wish more mainstream teachers were not so into "right"and "wrong"because every person is not the same.I have respect for the modern pistol grip,and it works better for most,but if one more person tells me how wrong I shoot i'm going to clearly say"well,maybe if I had girly-man hands like you than i'd use your technique"lol.But anyways,I know i'm not going to teach anyone anything,but I just wanted to share my trial and error and tell you what works for me.

S&W 915 9mm