Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Best way to buy a gun?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2013, 12:37 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 14 Times on 7 Posts

I have purchased several guns over the years and I feel like I did fairly well in each transaction. It's time to buy a new handgun and I was looking in stores and online. I have no experience with gunbroker.com or gunsamerica.com and the online auctions. Are they worth it or should I stick with the LGS or private sales?

I have bought from a gun show, LGS, cabella's, Dicks sporting, and private sale in the past.

Last edited by LandMonster; 07-21-2013 at 12:39 PM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-21-2013, 12:59 PM   #2

Liked 17 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I buy guns online frequently. Gun Broker, Guns America, Guns International, etc - you name it I've probably purchased a firearm from their website. I look for positive feedback from private sellers, a return period or inspection period, and pay with a cashiers check or money order. Don't be afraid to haggle a bit with private sellers.

Old 07-21-2013, 02:39 PM   #3
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 303 Times on 177 Posts
Likes Given: 58

I like to support the local guys and I don't buy firearms without handling them first. I'll check online sites for going market value of used and add for FFL/shipping and go shopping at my several LGSs. For new guns I check what MSRP is and shop for the lowest price under that number.

Old 07-21-2013, 03:08 PM   #4

Liked 1977 Times on 1175 Posts
Likes Given: 424