Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   best thing to use to clean handgun (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/best-thing-use-clean-handgun-49791/)

Ownspitbull 10-13-2011 11:29 PM

best thing to use to clean handgun

Im a newbie and just got a Smith and Wesson .40 handgun. Whats the best things to use to clean it? In the stores like Wal-Mart I see Rem Oil alot but I would think that would be used just to oil and lubricate my pistol rather than clean it.

Firearms4ever 10-13-2011 11:31 PM

I use Ballistol. Generally you cannot find it in local stores so you'll have to buy it from somewhere like Brownells or Ballistol's website. In my opinion it is the cream of the crop when it comes to cleaning and maintaining a firearm.

EagleSix 10-13-2011 11:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ownspitbull (Post 600836)
Im a newbie and just got a Smith and Wesson .40 handgun. Whats the best things to use to clean it? In the stores like Wal-Mart I see Rem Oil alot but I would think that would be used just to oil and lubricate my pistol rather than clean it.

Here is a link: http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f102/gun-cleaning-input-48564/

When I copied the link there were 707 opinions on how to clean guns.....enjoy....

RecklessRegard 10-14-2011 12:16 AM

Hoppe's No.9 solvent is popular, does a decent job and is readily available pretty much everywhere. Also, I have used, and like for that fact, Gunzilla. I use it at work, and it does a great job.

sweeper22 10-14-2011 01:34 AM

I like RemOil as a general purpose cleaner/lubricator. It's my primary cleaning fluid when I return home from the range. But do use something a little more slippery on your rails.