benefit of da vs. da/sa? - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > benefit of da vs. da/sa?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2011, 11:55 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 10 Times on 6 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cals400ex View Post
i am new to this scene and i wasn't sure the benefit of a da over a da/sa? any help would be appreciated.
For a defense weapon, DA (only) makes a lot of sense. Every trigger pull will have the same long, heavy pull. IMHO, it's dangerous to have a defense weapon where the first trigger pull is heavy/long and the follow up pulls are very short and light. Under stress, that's an invitation for an AD.

Old 09-24-2011, 11:59 PM   #12

Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by cals400ex
i am a novice and the gun probably won't get much use. i was looking really closely at the sig 226 and the cz 75. on a da/sa gun, you can manually cock it, correct? if so, this would avoid two different trigger pulls. also, i don't understand what a decocker is??
A decocker is a lever on some da/sa guns that allows you to safely drop the hammer while a round us in the chamber without firing the gun. This would return you to DA mode because the round would be chambered and the hammer would be down requiring the longer trigger pull that pulls back and drops the hammer.

With a da/sa gun, one method of training would be to fire one DA shot followed be one or two SA shots, then decock the gun and repeat the process. This is to train you on the transition from DA to SA.

Personally, I think the whole two different trigger pull "disadvantage" of a DA/SA is a lot of bunk. When people float a shot with a DA/SA it's the first shot - the DA shot, not any of the SA shots. So how can all DA shots be an advantage? The long hard trigger pull is the problem for new shooters and what induces bad trigger pulls. So more if them (DAO) isn't better!