Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   benefit of da vs. da/sa? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/benefit-da-vs-da-sa-48750/)

cals400ex 09-24-2011 07:15 PM

benefit of da vs. da/sa?

i am new to this scene and i wasn't sure the benefit of a da over a da/sa? any help would be appreciated.

JonM 09-24-2011 07:49 PM

there is only a benefit if your training a large mass of people who will use the weapon only rarely if ever. such as police forces or military.

da/sa, sa, striker type guns are better for the civilian type folk and the individual leo who are looking to spend more time training.

the double action pull is heavy clumsy long and difficult to be accurate with under stress but smooths the training proccess greatly.

sa or single action triggers generally have an external safety of some sort and an extra step is involved but the light crisp pull lends its self well to accurate very fast shooting. the striker pistol style like glock the triggers are generally mushy and very very poor as the striker is a compromise between da and sa pulls eliminating the transition between da to sa in the da/sa pistols.

the exception to the striker being a poor trigger style is the springfield xd/xdm. the triggers on those guns are very nice and the closest you will get to a 1911 sa trigger yet still retain a good deal of safety even after eliminating the external safety and da pull.

its generally the transition from da mode to sa mode that is the most difficult aspect of more traditional da/sa pistol shooters to overcome.

knfxda 09-24-2011 07:54 PM

Personally, I don't see a benefit of a DAO over a da/sa, but I'm sure others may feel otherwise.