? about making steel targets

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > ? about making steel targets

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2009, 03:27 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default ? about making steel targets

I am new to pistol shooting and want to ring some steel. I have all the tools to build anything, cutting steel is what I do for a living. So whats your advice?

Thanks in advance

Pat

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-30-2009, 05:09 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 2731 Times on 1430 Posts
Likes Given: 230

The grade of steel is important. Too hard it can be brittle and crack from repeated hits. Too soft and it will deform badly.

In life, strive to take the high road....It offers a better field of fire.
"Robo is right" Fuzzball

Old 10-30-2009, 05:24 PM   #3

I mostly have A 36 plate laying around I was going to use 1/4" and 3/8"

Old 10-30-2009, 05:56 PM   #4

Liked 27 Times on 21 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by patm View Post
I mostly have A 36 plate laying around I was going to use 1/4" and 3/8"
Hell that's plenty thick enough. You can make half and full silhouette steel figures that will fall when hit or spring back when struck. Just my .02 cents worth.

Jack

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!

"There is no hunting like the hunting of man, and those who have hunted armed men long enough and liked it, never care for anything else thereafter." - Hemingway

“The greatest ignorance is to reject something you know nothing about.”

Old 10-30-2009, 06:16 PM   #5

Liked 41 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 230