Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > .44 pistol, need help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2010, 07:07 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default .44 pistol, need help

Hello, gentlemen. I've come here seeking your expert advice. I have nothing at all against guns, but I grew up in a household without them so I have no real knowledge of them at all. I'm writing a novel and I want every scene to be as accurate as possible so I have what might seem like a silly question to ask. I've always considered the .44 to be the coolest and manliest handgun in existence, but, as I said, I really know nothing about them. I need to know what this gun would actually do to a person from a distance of about thirty feet. I need the person to be running away and get shot in the back. Would it likely kill them instantly, go through in the process of blowing half of their organs out, could they live for any given period of time afterward? I need this person to have enough life to try and crawl away (with their arms while their legs dangle motionless behind them) before being flipped over on their back to have their pathetic life strangled out of them with the foot of a boot.

I know this may be a very off the wall question, but this scene has to be perfect. If the .44 is too powerful for this character's life to be taken less than instantly, what other type of handgun would you suggest? It's based in modern times so my other favorite, the Colt .45, unfortunately, would not be very likely.

Any input you have is much appreciated.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here