Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Maine Gun Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f132/)
-   -   Multiple Drivers licenses? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f132/multiple-drivers-licenses-98164/)

MaineGun 10-04-2013 01:41 PM

Multiple Drivers licenses?

I am currently a F/T Massachusetts resident, however I own a 2nd home in Maine that I visit frequently. I know that MA has tough gun laws, although I've never tried to buy one before. I was thinking of buying a rifle for hunting since there is so much game around my place in Maine. I know in Maine you can just use your drivers license to buy guns/ammo, and I was thinking that if I got a 2nd drivers license using my Maine home then I could buy something without all the BS. I don't have any criminal convictions or whatever it is that they might look for, I was just thinking it might be easier to go this route. Has anyone here gotten multiple drivers licenses for this or similar? I was thinking I could change my living status to show that I live in Maine often enough to justify it. Any thoughts?

mountainman13 10-04-2013 02:00 PM

So you're looking to buy a rifle in ma?
You'll need to get an fid card. This will limit what you can purchase. If I remember correctly you need to take a hunters safety course. Then go and apply at your local police department. If you look around you should be able to find the course very cheap or free. The fid will cost you $100 and the process could take as long as 6 months. You'd be better off going for your ltc in mass.
You're better off looking into buying in Maine.
Welcome to FTF.

MaineGun 10-04-2013 02:04 PM