What gun should I get? (I have no gun experience or gun knowledge) - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Events and Meetups > State Forums > Illinois Gun Forum > What gun should I get? (I have no gun experience or gun knowledge)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2013, 03:15 AM   #21
FAA licensed bugsmasher
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2141 Times on 1164 Posts
Likes Given: 771

Quote:
Originally Posted by death01 View Post
If you ask them if they could teach how to use a gun will they do it? So I dont have to take a class..

I think I can learn just about everything online. I think I just need first hand gun experience
I started without much training some 20 years ago. I would not recommend it. Get the training.

Here is a link to where you can find local NRA courses.
http://www.nrainstructors.org/CourseCatalog.aspx

And don't get hung up on Glocks or any other specific manufacturer. Play with as many guns as you can get your hands on.

Scott

Quote:
If you're not representing Jesus in a way that makes people want to hang out with you, you're doing it wrong.
Quote:
Those who refuse to participate in politics shall be governed by their inferiors. -Plato
Regent Holdings What you need to know about silver, gold, and the economy.

Join the NRA

Old 04-03-2013, 03:34 AM   #22
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 541 Times on 329 Posts
Likes Given: 215

Well I started off with a full size 1911, chambered in .45 ACP of course. It was the first handgun I bought. My skill level with handguns was very low when I bought it (only shot them a few times and nothing of that caliber) but my skill level with firearms in general was a lower middle part of the spectrum (at least on my scale). Overall it worked out great for me and with the help of youtube I quickly learned how to fully disassemble and reassemble my pistol.