Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Illinois Gun Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f126/)
-   -   What gun should I get? (I have no gun experience or gun knowledge) (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f126/what-gun-should-i-get-i-have-no-gun-experience-gun-knowledge-87959/)

death01 04-01-2013 05:02 PM

What gun should I get? (I have no gun experience or gun knowledge)

I have no gun experience and know nothing about guns. I dont know anything so now i have to learn perhaps not everything about guns, but certainly alot. Id like to hear if anyone has any recommendations of a specific gunshop(s) in Illinois mainly in or around Joliet,Illinois. Im 21 and have a FOID card. I heard glocks are beginner friendly so glock is certainly a top option for me. Ill use the gun for range shooting and maybe home defense. I want a cheap gun but not too cheap that it may malfunction and whatnot. I just want a reliable non expensive easytouse handgun.

Thank you.

Sniper03 04-01-2013 05:07 PM

If you are going to a good gun shop I would recommend Mega Sports in Plainfield IL. I use to call on them and they use to have a pretty impressive selection. And yes a Glock would be a good first semi auto pistol for you. Probably 9mm would be best to start with.

death01 04-01-2013 05:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sniper03 (Post 1199342)
If you are going to a good gun shop I would recommend Mega Sports in Plainfield IL. I use to call on them and they use to have a pretty impressive selection. And yes a Glock would be a good first semi auto pistol for you. Probably 9mm would be best to start with.

Thanks.
Right now Mega is my first option since its the shop closest to me.

nitestalker 04-01-2013 05:22 PM

The first thing you should do is attend an NRA Shooting clinic. Buying a firearm without understanding their function and use is not a wise decision.:)

Ken_inWA 04-01-2013 06:35 PM