Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Illinois Gun Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f126/)
-   -   Ordering ar15 lower, where to send it? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f126/ordering-ar15-lower-where-send-89731/)

beastmode986 04-28-2013 06:15 PM

Ordering ar15 lower, where to send it?

Im going to order an ar15 lower this weekend but my dad and I have never done this before, we called jrs in aurora they said they dont do transfers. Does cabellas do transfers? Gat guns? can anyone help me out? Thanks

Axxe55 04-28-2013 06:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by beastmode986 (Post 1230158)
Im going to order an ar15 lower this weekend but my dad and I have never done this before, we called jrs in aurora they said they dont do transfers. Does cabellas do transfers? Gat guns? can anyone help me out? Thanks

are you 21? if not you can't personally order any lower.

first you need to find an FFL that will do the transfer. their licence has to be on record with the company you are ordering the lower from, before they will even ship it.

MisterMcCool 04-28-2013 06:59 PM

Pawn shops will usually do it for twenty bucks or so.

c3shooter 04-28-2013 08:59 PM

You must be 21 to buy a lower that is more than 80%. To find a FFL that will receive it for you, go to gunbroker.com

On their home page, left side, below the green bar that says "areas of interest" is "Find a FFL" Those are FFLS that have registered with gunbroker as being willing to do transfers. Plug in your zip code, will pull up closest ones. They will need to contact shipper and give them their FFL number. When they recieve it, you go do the same paperwork as if you were buying it from them.

KJG67 04-29-2013 04:31 AM

Yes, Gat will do them, as will OnTarget in Crystal Lake. Not sure where you live, but you could call Midwest Guns in Lyons, Article II in Lombard, MegaSports in Plainfield.