Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Events and Meetups > State Forums > Illinois Gun Forum > NFA Weapons in IL?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2013, 09:59 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default NFA Weapons in IL?

I am considering acquiring a Serbu Super Shorty. I am new to IL, and am unsure as to the current state of IL laws as they apply to AOW firearms.

Can anyone let me know how much difficulty I may encounter if I seek a CLEO signature on the paperwork? The Champaign County Sheriff, right?

And the gist of the NFA is that the weapons are tracked and registered constantly, akin to cars?

THx

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-15-2013, 10:12 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 298 Times on 174 Posts
Likes Given: 58

No NFA weapons in Illinois to my knowledge. I'm not sure if you can get an FFL and have them with the proper liscence.

Old 12-15-2013, 10:50 PM   #3

Liked 1111 Times on 721 Posts
Likes Given: 1981

Quote:
Originally Posted by aandabooks View Post
No NFA weapons in Illinois to my knowledge. I'm not sure if you can get an FFL and have them with the proper liscence.
Yes , some NFA weapons can be had in IL. There are however hoops to jump through for specific ones like SBRs . SBSs are a no no here . I think the easiest way to make this happen is to buy a pistol grip shotgun , apply for a AOW , pay the $200 wait the 9 months and then have that ol girl hacked off and put a pistol grip on the front . A AOW is legal in IL but a SBS is not , figure that one out.