Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Events and Meetups > State Forums > Illinois Gun Forum > 85 Yes and 30 no on concealed carry vote...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2013, 10:44 AM   #11
CGS
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 66 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by purehavoc View Post
That bill is crap , As a Illinois resident I do not want it . Its to limited on where you can and cant carry , 16 hrs of training is ridiculous . 3 hrs of training for a renewal , $300 for a 5 year permit and $150 renewal . Background checks that are already done in the FOID process , why would they need done again. This bill will keep the average person from ccw . Single moms and elderly on fixed income wont likely be able to afford it or the 16 hr training alone . I don't see any reciprocity in the bill for current ccw licensed people .
Crap, crap, crap !!!!!!!!!! Dont just say well atleast we have something , we deserve a better program
We do deserve better, but we could have gotten ALOT worse. I remained neutral on this bill. Man, I didn't want THIS bill, the people who negotiated the bill (plus nemuerous previous bills) were very adamant about the fact this it very very likely would never go to the "cliff". The fact that the NRA, and ISRA, and IllinoisCarry and Todd V remained neutral speaks volumes.

I'm willing to accept this bill in the short term, and no doubt IllinoisCarry and ISRA will continues over the next few years to work at improving this bill. We can go on the offensive and constantly introduce amendments to improve the bill.

I half did and half didn't want this bill to pass. I did not file a witness slip on this bill for the first time since I have been following the issue. But now that CC is "half way there" as Brandon Phelps said, I have decided just to accept it and make the best of it and work towards improving it however I can.