Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > You guys and gals with daughters (and maybe sons too)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2013, 01:12 AM   #1
F4U
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 940 Times on 560 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default You guys and gals with daughters (and maybe sons too)

My 11 year old daughter is playing volleyball for her school team this fall, this is my first time with school sports since it was me 30 plus years ago.

There are only 9 girls on the team and the school has no bus(private school). Since I am off work with my bum shoulder I have been able to attend every game.

Two Saturdays ago we meet at the school for an away game, we are going to follow the coach to the game. We are sitting in the parking lot and cars start rolling up and unloading girls and leaving. It turns out that I am the only parent besides the coach heading to the game. So I end up hauling 4 11-13 year old girls to the game 30 miles away. This is not a problem I have the room, I am going anyway.

Last Saturday our game is at the YMCA we get there 45 min early as instructed and 2 of the girls are already there. The coaches are not there yet. The 2 girls were dropped off and left there by themselves.

Am I an insane overprotective parent for wanting to know who my kid is riding with, or that there is an adult coach around before I will drop her off somewhere.

Again I have the advantage of being off work during this so I can be there, but I just can't imagine dumping my kid off on a coach or other parent without at least a rough idea what is going on. Even if I have to get to work.

Other parents thoughts????

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.