Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   The Club House (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f12/)
-   -   would you.... (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f12/would-you-73335/)

mountainman13 09-28-2012 01:14 PM

would you....

Buy a compound bow from someone who has only the information they could gleam while ordering it?
We are considering an indoor archery range. We have come to the conclusion that the range itself would not be viable. We would need to sell archery supplies also. Problem is, I'm a longbow and recurve guy. I make my own arrows. I don't know much about the string driven guns besides people want the most compact one they can buy.

trip286 09-28-2012 01:18 PM

Many gun store owners aren't experts in EVERY gun they sell... Why should an archery shop owner be?

mountainman13 09-28-2012 01:42 PM

Admittedly I'm not an expert on every gun we have but the boss usually picks up my slack and vise versa. Neither of us is into compound bows.

texaswoodworker 09-28-2012 02:25 PM

Hoyt is one of the best brands of compound bow out there, at least for the money. That's about all I know about bows. :o

note (I've heard that from someone who knows a little about bows, and a review that said about the same thing. I'm not claiming it as fact, that's just what I've heard/read)

Dillinger 09-28-2012 02:35 PM

How many products are we talking about? 10 models? 15? Do some reading, print out some magazine reviews, maybe a comparison or two and be educated enough to answer all basic questions. Shoot each one a couple of times to see what fits your frame and style and clarify that when talking to the customer.

Chances are good someone coming to make that kind of purchase has done some research, they just be looking to handle and get feedback on sales.

I am sure we have all bought many an item from sales folks who were not experts.

JD

JD1969 09-28-2012 02:45 PM

Quote: