Technical armor
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Technical armor

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2011, 05:12 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Technical armor

Hello everyone.
I am here because of a "conceptual" project of mine.
I have a project regarding a DIY "technical" (you know,a pickup truck with a machinegun mounted on top of it).
Taking into consideration that I am not very good at physics and was not able to get any valuable information elsewhere on the internet,
I would like to ask you about it's armor.
Considering that usually in the type of situation technicals are used you don't really have access to composite armor or RHA (rolled homogenous armor) steel (that are used for modern armored vehicles) I thought whether or not you could use regular steel.
Sure,it would probably be really heavy and blah blah blah but I just wanted to know if it could work.
So I would greatly appreciate it if anyone could bring up any info about regular steel vs RHA or composite,e.g. RHA plate of X thickness is approximately equal to regular steel plate of Y thickness,etc..
Thank you very much!!!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-02-2011, 06:51 PM   #2

Liked 9 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

forget the pickup truck ‪Armored-Bulldozer-Rampage‬‏ - YouTube

the north had us outnumbered and outgunned but we had them outmanned .......................................... join the NRA

Last edited by moonpie; 08-03-2011 at 01:21 AM.

Old 08-02-2011, 11:46 PM   #3

I hope your project remains a "conceptual" project!