Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   The Club House (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f12/)
-   -   Scratching my head (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f12/scratching-my-head-93979/)

CourtJester 07-16-2013 03:56 AM

Okay, so, I'm a plant manager for a Fortune 500 company, but I'll be honest. I don't know a great deal about much. I like black and white clear cut stuff. This one has me quite lost.

Looking today; the S&P 500 and Dow Jones are absolutely at the top of their game. Higher than ever before. But there are still tons of people out of work. Outside of the Martin & Zimmerman show, the economy is still high on the government's todo list.

Someone current my equation here.....

Company's $$$$ is way up = sales are WAY UP/costs just got stupid low - still high unemployment by a huge chunk of the people making what's being sold = less money to spend - lower business income = record high numbers = wtf???

tri70 07-16-2013 04:15 AM

Look at the people who open and close the stock market. If its way up total bs! I see direct manufacturing from gas & oil and auto markets. The production orders are kinda low, not much overtime and people are getting moved around to different departments for work. If the economy is good I can see it, this Wall St stuff is pure BS to me. Thanks to those who stand in front of the camera and want more of your money as they ole with the gavel.

F4U 07-17-2013 02:39 AM

I do deliveries and pickups for one of the largest ltl trucking companies, so I am seeing both very large companies and mom and pop shops on a daily basis. This is what I see and hear, it probably is not the whole story.