Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   The Club House (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f12/)
-   -   Resume Question (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f12/resume-question-42881/)

AusLach 05-23-2011 03:43 AM

Resume Question

Background:

I'm a full-time student at University (college) doing a Bachelor of Business majoring in Marketing and Sports Management. A local accounting and buisness management firm has a full-time position available for a receptionist/filer/all round sh!t-kicker. Now, this job is definitely not what I want to do for the rest of my life, but it's a foot in the door to further employment. What I'm thinking about doing is applying for this position and finishing my studies part-time over the next 3-4 years instead of next year if I continued full-time study. The firm offers an accelerated promotion program for graduate students so I don't think that I'd be playing the role of receptionist very long, and after being a student for the past 15 years I'd really like to get into the workforce and earn some gun money anyway :p:D

Question:

In a recent 'Accounting' assignment, I achieved full marks; the only student University wide to do so. Do you think I'd look like a try-hard to attach this assignment and the marking criteria to my resume? It's not really applicable to the job description but it does showcase my skills I guess..

Couldn't hurt, right? :o

doctherock 05-23-2011 03:47 AM

Just had resume writing in one of my business classes. Take what you have and tailor it to the job. Just change it up to fit what they want. Try to use the wording in the job description in your resume.

Benning Boy 05-23-2011 04:05 AM

Not sure what your economy looks like, but I'd take ANY advantage I had, and make it fit.

What you've mentioned suggests that you tend to apply yourself to tasks.

dog2000tj 05-23-2011 04:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AusLach (Post 510078)