Random Thoughts Thread - Page 2159
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Random Thoughts Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2013, 05:34 PM   #21581
I'm a mechanic, I fix problems you didn't know you had, in ways you do not understand
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3589 Times on 1993 Posts
Likes Given: 153

Quote:
Originally Posted by trip286 View Post

Yeah, don't you remember? I was on the phone with you as soon as it went off. I was telling you how it just didn't end exactly how I expected with the diner scene and I was a bit surprised that Travolta didn't have a little more screen time.

Violent movies I have no problem with. War movies I have a huge problem with. The civil war is far enough removed, and from such a different era and society, that although some scenes make me flinch, it doesn't bother me that bad. Saving Private Ryan makes me lose a little sleep, Band of Brothers will have me sleeping in a fighting hole in the backyard, and The Pacific... Did bad things to me.

Having lived some things, and then seeing movies based on real history, those movies have a much bigger impact than a fantasy movie. The odd thing is, I didn't start having problems with those movies until about 2 years after I was discharged. It took me that long for my psyche to catch up with the events I've gone through.
I actually remembered that conversation right after I posted that.

3 gallons of crazy in a 2 gallon bucket

Know your limits; exceed them often

That which does not kill me had better run pretty damn fast.

Sticks and stones may break my bones but hollow points expand on impact.

Old 02-15-2013, 06:23 PM   #21582
RIP my good and faithful dog.
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 7660 Times on 4602 Posts
Likes Given: 9573

Quote:
Originally Posted by downsouth View Post
And you should see "Shirley Valentine". I'll keep telling you that until you see it. ;-)