Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Portable ice makers, any exp.?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2012, 10:09 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1677 Times on 1082 Posts
Likes Given: 851

Default Portable ice makers, any exp.?

In my move I'm leaving a 'fridge with all the bells and whistles and getting the cheapest, most basic , rental unit 'fridge you can envision.
Hence, I've been looking at ice makers. I have lots of experience with commercial and undercounter installed units, but I see there are new little units that you "plug and pour".
Anyone have any experience with these little rascals?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-14-2012, 12:03 AM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 612 Times on 282 Posts
Likes Given: 352

I've been using one for 7 years or so. The ice-making system in my refrigerator went bonkers and it was cheaper to buy an ice-maker than fix the 'frig. Edgestar is the company that made mine. Also I have a small one for a spare. They are a solid device, with the exception that they use microswitches for the ice dump cycle functions. The switches can possibly cause flaky performance sometimes. I've had to adjust the switch positions once and I replaced the plastic 'ice bucket' once. The ice is dumped by a small motor and the plastic coupling broke. The refrigeration system has been faultless. Parts are readily available from the company, as is service info, complete with pictures as to how to replace various components.