The Only Engineer in a Business Meeting - Page 5
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > The Only Engineer in a Business Meeting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2014, 05:43 AM   #41
F4U
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1300 Times on 762 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by clr8ter View Post
That is interesting. I have noticed this as well. I have a degree in carpentry, but most of my work has been in precision sheet metal. I can switch between fractions and thousandths at will. It has served me well.
My early training was in carpentry also, but I have done just enough metal work to think in thousandths when I have too but it is not "at will" like it is for you. I have some mental gymnastics to get through first for the transition. Being able to switch back and forth at will would indeed serve a person well.
Old 05-17-2014, 09:44 AM   #42
Big TOW
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 7645 Times on 3908 Posts
Likes Given: 8633

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonM View Post
One of my early jobs years ago was doing basic cad wiring diagrams. The boss would come in and yell at my if i wasnt using the snap setting which snapped the cursor to the closest line. He would say its all drawn to snap so use the snap function. But it wasnt. None of them were. They were his drawings.

When you zoomed the plans in the original drawings were all free hand. So of course everytime they built a power panel it would be off and the techs would come in for corrections . Thd lead engineer, my boss, would come in and yell at me for producing drawings that were wrong scale....