My Posts Are Going Halter - Scalder

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > My Posts Are Going Halter - Scalder

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2008, 01:46 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Cleaning the Glock 30SF Question

Ok, so I've done a fair amount of research and watching of videos of glock cleaning... I hear a lot of bad press about allowing lube or solvent leak into the firing pin channel... Now I am nervous about cleaning that area of my gun. I am completely new to this and this is my first firearm, so I just want to make sure I am doing it all correctly. I'm assuming the "breech face" is simply the wall of the slide where the firing pin pokes thru? If that is correct, would it be safe to use a toothbrush with a bit of solvent on that area to clean it? (Then of course drying it thoroughly?) If someone can go into more detail for what is safe and what I should not do I'd greatly appreciate it. The manual that came with it doesn't go into very much detail at all and I'd like some info on how to safely clean that rear area of the slide.
-Also is it safe to use a little bit of solvent on the plastic frame part of the gun? Thanks very much.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-17-2008, 03:35 PM   #2

Ok, so now I read that you should keep the slide pointed down toward the table when cleaning the breach face area... (To prevent any solvent from leaking into the firing pin hole...) My next question is am I supposed to pull the firing pin back into the slide before cleaning the breach face area?