Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Mattresses: No More Mysteries

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2013, 12:09 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 608 Times on 365 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default Mattresses: No More Mysteries

Hello all. I am starting this thread to help clear up some of the confusion regarding mattresses. I worked in the industry for many years on the sales side and hold many qualifications and certifications pertaining to bedding and residential/commercial furniture. Please feel free to ask any and all questions and I will help in any way possible.

Mattresses are one of the most confusing products for a person who is not in the industry to shop for. There are many misconceptions and lies leveled at mattresses. To make things worse, all the big manufacturers have different label names for each retailer. Sealy will spec a model and sell it to Haverty's as a "Unicorn", Ashley Furniture as a "War Horse", and Macy's as a "Kentucky". This makes comparing models impossible unless you take a hard look at the spec sheet for each individual bed. Once you have "apples to apples" specs for a single manufacturer, the only difference is the cover(also known as the quilt), price, and services offered by the retailer.

Most people, as did I before entering the industry, don't think a queen set should cost more than $500. That simply isn't true. Mattresses are one of the best consumer values on the market. Just think about how many cars you will buy in the next 10-20 years. Think about how much furniture you will buy in the next 10-20 years. Think about all the clothes you will buy in the next 10-20 years. If you buy a quality mattress set, you will only buy 1 every 10-20 years! For most people, the same can't be said about the previous categories.