Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   The Club House (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f12/)
-   -   Hard Cider / Mead (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f12/hard-cider-mead-52729/)

tCan 11-29-2011 08:42 PM

Hard Cider / Mead

So, today I started on making my own alcohol for the first time. I went down to the local grocery and started looking around for a good jug. I ran across a glass bottle of Apple Cider that was 2 quarts in size. There were some other juices there that would probably work better, but I'd rather have the glass over plastic. I also would have liked a 1 gal. jug, but they didn't have one.

I can't go to the wine or ABC store since I'm not technically 21 yet (though by the time this batch is ready, I will be) so I'm settling for standard bread yeast. Anyway, when I got home, I poured myself 3 glasses of cider, and replaced the liquid with 15 to 20oz of honey, 1 cup of sugar and of course a table spoon or so of yeast that I activated while I was sterilizing everything. If the product turns out tasting anywhere near what the cider and honey mix tasted like, it should turn out very positively.

To cap the bottle, I picked up some balloons and poked a couple holes in them with a pin. I tested the system, and the balloons will hold a positive pressure, and when you put your ear to them, you can hear a slow leak of air. So I have confidence that it will work.

I've got a large bottle of olive oil that's almost empty too, it's plastic and only 1 quart, but I may have a go with that one too, maybe just a random assortment of fruits and stuff... bananas, oranges, golden delicious apples, pineapple...

http://www.murraycider.com/images/Cider2004.jpg

2 quart on the left, 1 gal. on the right.