Gun Store Plastic? - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Gun Store Plastic?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2009, 11:06 AM   #21
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Confession time (in a very low voice).......I have a plastic gun.

It's a Taurus 24/7. It stays in my truck. My Colt 1911 Stainless Gold Cup (my favorite pistol) spends most of its time in my gun safe with my (Belgian made) Browning Hi-Power. These guns are just too valuable to keep in my truck. The Taurus works fine, has run about 400 rounds of 20 year old re-loads flawlessly, and most were in the black at 15 yards. I do believe I shoot just a tad better with the 1911, but then again I've been shooting it for 25 years.

Now as to buying good quality US made firearms. I'd like to. I suppose I could have bought an XD instead of the Taurus, but I liked the Taurus better.

Most of the guns that I have been buying lately have been Italian manufactured replicas of older era rifles and pistols. I could have bought a Shiloh Sharps 1874 in .45-70 (made in Montana), but it was twice the price of the Pedersoli and had a year or longer waiting period. Ditto for American custom made Hawkens and flintlocks. Same story with BP Pistols, you just cant get (or afford) the US options.

TXnorton

Old 12-09-2009, 11:26 AM   #22

Liked 22 Times on 7 Posts

A gun store is like any other retail establisment - they're going to carry what sells the best. My local hangout has the typical assortment of Glocks, XDs, and entry level 1911s on the shelf as most do. The kid that owns it does pickup some nice used stuff but he rarely puts it out on display. He generally advertises the used stuff on Gunbroker and keeps it piled up in the back room of the store.