Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Free Pass on Stupid "?" Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2010, 04:27 PM   #101
Resident JackHole
FTF_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 291 Times on 165 Posts
Likes Given: 41

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benning Boy View Post
Ladies love the dud. I can chamber it over and over, ALL...NIGHT...LONG!!!
Well played, sir...

No, you can't take my gun. I'm gonna need it when you try to take my truck...

Μολὼν λαβέ

I'm a mechanic. I fix things. This is why I will never be able to hold public office.

Old 08-06-2010, 06:28 PM   #102
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 8421 Times on 3651 Posts
Likes Given: 1300

Quote:
Why are salmon so lonely?
Has to do with their breath.

<--- Your Moderators at our weekly Troll Hunt

Old 08-06-2010, 09:25 PM   #103
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 2601 Times on 1368 Posts
Likes Given: 202

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jo da Plumbr View Post
I was given a dozen rounds of this 7mm mag. The photo makes it look like a copper jacket but I think it's steel? Has a lead point...soft point? The base says norma 7mm rem mag. Must to be at least 20 yrs old.

So do I shoot them through my Husky at the range?
Save them for hunting or SHTF ammo?
Or toss em out?
Many european rifle bullets are cupro-nickel jacketed. These often look silverish and will be slightly attracted to a magnet. They are safe to shoot. Steel jacketed soft point would be a very weird paradox indeed.

In life, strive to take the high road....It offers a better field of fire.
"Robo is right" Fuzzball

Old 08-07-2010, 12:31 AM   #104

Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Why is the nomenclature of so many rounds misleading. For example:

480 Ruger = .475
460 S&W magnum = .452
454 Casull = .452
44 magnum = .429
38 Special = .357
380 auto = .355

and they're still doing it with new ammo:

327 Federal Magnum = .312