Ever Known A Pathological Liar? - Page 7
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Ever Known A Pathological Liar?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2013, 10:38 PM   #61
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1651 Times on 985 Posts
Likes Given: 361

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairbear1 View Post
Love these stories,absolute crackups. It's good to see you blokes have your fair share of crapologists as well.

Being an ex mechanic I used to cop a lot of interesting stories and the 1 that stuck out amongst many was 1 bloke who swore black and blue that his Holden(General Motors Holden Aussie version of GM) V8 308ci ute had completely spun the engine in the engine bay while the ute was doing 60mph.

I asked him how he knew this and he said that the engine was sitting on it's side in the engine bay. Actual fact was that the engine dropped a engine mount.
This was a standard joke amongst my mates and I for a long time.

The subject of guns and hunting always brings out the best in people I reckon.

2 stories,as at the last place I worked at there was a couple of us talking guns and hunting in general when old mate decides to throw his 2c in and says that he had a .243 that threw a projectile out at 5000fps.
Now this was just ripe for a pisstake so the 1st question I asked was "Did you chrongraph that load and what powder charge and projectile did you use and in what rifle?"

He looked at me and without missing a beat replied,"It was in a BSA Chronach(? yes I looked at him and had to turn away before I pissed myself laughing) and it was using some brand of bullet that I can't remember(where upon I started rattling off a few brand names but he sort of looked at me stunned) and it was gunpowder that was grey looking." and then I the clanger "Whats a chronograph,never heard of one of those."

I explained then that a chronograph was used to measure projectile velocity and it's been around for along time.