Electrician??? - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Electrician???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2013, 03:35 AM   #11
Supporting Member
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 531 Times on 321 Posts

I am a union electrician and the pay and retirement is good for here in Texas 25.00 an hr. When you have so many Home Depot electricians that come over the border.
It brings the pay scale down for everyone.
It's a lot of math every day like algebra and trig.
It's not for everybody.

"Don't call me Sir, I work for a living"

"I'm an A**hole"

Old 06-24-2013, 03:43 AM   #12
The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

Liked 21723 Times on 12313 Posts
Likes Given: 53672

my father worked as an electrician most of his life. he learned the trade in the Air Force. he made very good money doing that type of work. he mainly worked in large companies doing commercial type work, not residential. at one time when we lived in Houston, he did subcontract out doing wiring jobs on new houses being built. a couple of the places he worked were union jobs and they paid even better. IMO, a very good trade to learn and master, and one that has the potential for good wages. good luck.

Old 06-24-2013, 04:16 AM   #13

Liked 2391 Times on 1488 Posts
Likes Given: 51

I was a 4th year apprentice in the program for commercial/industrial. 110v to 13.5k services. I was making $12.95/hr when I left. Most licensed electricians were making 16-18/hr there. That's why I left. No money, no work.

Oh dern....

Revelation 19:11

And I saw heaven opened, and behold a white horse; and he that sat upon him was called Faithful and True, and in righteousness he doth judge and make war.

Old 06-24-2013, 04:27 AM   #14

Liked 742 Times on 435 Posts
Likes Given: 958

Quote:
Originally Posted by kytowboater View Post