Dry firing? What's your thoughts?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Dry firing? What's your thoughts?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2008, 07:26 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Dry firing? What's your thoughts?

Hello all. As you all know I am a bit of a noob to the world of firearms and my experience certainly is limited. However to help me progress along and gain more confidence I read a lot of different information and watch videos as I find them.

There is a website that is dedicated to firearms related videos and seemingly has experts in the field sharing techniques, tips, suggestions, ect... to aid you in growing and learning about firearms.

On this site (guntalk.tv, if you were wondering) there are a couple of videos that suggest you dry fire your pistols (one even suggests doing it 100 times a day!) to become familiar with the trigger pull and to train yourself to be able to squeeze the trigger without disturbing the sights.

Please correct me if I am wrong but I have always been told that dry firing your firearms will ruin them. When I asked a friend about it he also said that dry firing was NOT a good idea but there were special loads (some type of caps or something) you could purchase so that dry firing would not cause any harm to your valuable weapon.

Any thoughts, ideas, opinions, ect....?

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-30-2008, 11:50 AM   #2