Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Domestic Abuse

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2013, 04:02 AM   #11
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2832 Times on 1639 Posts
Likes Given: 16886

Bottom line: Don 't let anything push your wrong button..! We all have the power to chose on what and when to act..!

We all have thoughts , our actions define our being..! All buttons OFF..!

Old 06-20-2013, 07:23 AM   #12
Ain't she sweet?
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 6743 Times on 4074 Posts
Likes Given: 8041

Quote:
Originally Posted by c3shooter View Post
OK- from the start- I am not a lawyer. If you need legal advice, see a lawyer, not an internet forum- since NONE of us will be sitting in the cell beside you.

Having said that, as I understand the FEDERAL law on this- If you have been CONVICTED of a crime of Domestic Violence- misdemeanor or felony, it is illegal for you to possess a firearm.

Period.

No "for 5 years" or any such thing.

Period. No. uh-uh. Nope. Nyet. Nein. Not ever. Unless you get a pardon from the Governor or President.

Not a pistol, not a rifle, not a shotgun, not a round of ammo.
That is correct as far as I have heard.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SSGN_Doc View Post
It's serious enough that in the military, a member who has a domestic violence conviction, cannot stand armed watches. They can't qualify with firearms. Therefore retention in the military may be pretty short after a domestic violence conviction.
Wow, that is interesting.
dango Likes This 
Old 06-20-2013, 09:53 AM   #13
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 2579 Times on 1355 Posts
Likes Given: 197

Yup, any conviction of domestic violence will cause you to lose your right to ever own a firearm. Shove your significant other and pay a small fine? No more guns, ever.