Doesn't the Background Check "Register" my Firearm?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Doesn't the Background Check "Register" my Firearm?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2013, 06:13 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Doesn't the Background Check "Register" my Firearm?

I'm new to gun ownership and was wondering:

There is a lot of concern over being forced to register our firearms with the federal government, but isn't the firearm "registered" with the FBI during the instant baclground check?

I'm in Oregon and we fill out the background check form, which lists the firearms being purchased, takes our two thumb prints, and then the store runs it through the instant background check. I just assumed they input into that system the firearms that are being purchased, therefore "registering" them with the FBI's background check system.

Is that not the case?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-26-2013, 06:25 PM   #2
Retired
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 3115 Times on 1790 Posts
Likes Given: 1326

I don't know about Oregon, but here in Florida the transaction comes down to "a long gun/handgun was purchased by this individual".
The 4473 stays with the LGS, and serial number of firearm is not known by FDLE or BATF.

Amendment II:
"A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed."

Life Member NRA
Life Member NAHC
Former President of the ECPT (Eifel Combat Pistol Team)

Old 01-26-2013, 06:29 PM   #3