Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   The Club House (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f12/)
-   -   Doesn't the Background Check "Register" my Firearm? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f12/doesnt-background-check-register-my-firearm-82515/)

poker99 01-26-2013 05:13 PM

Doesn't the Background Check "Register" my Firearm?

I'm new to gun ownership and was wondering:

There is a lot of concern over being forced to register our firearms with the federal government, but isn't the firearm "registered" with the FBI during the instant baclground check?

I'm in Oregon and we fill out the background check form, which lists the firearms being purchased, takes our two thumb prints, and then the store runs it through the instant background check. I just assumed they input into that system the firearms that are being purchased, therefore "registering" them with the FBI's background check system.

Is that not the case?

danf_fl 01-26-2013 05:25 PM

I don't know about Oregon, but here in Florida the transaction comes down to "a long gun/handgun was purchased by this individual".
The 4473 stays with the LGS, and serial number of firearm is not known by FDLE or BATF.

winds-of-change 01-26-2013 05:29 PM

I think when they do a background check it is sort of "registered" to you. But I was recently gifted a pistol from my Father. That one is not really "registered" to me. But I have a FOID card and I am legally able to own it.

Cattledog 01-26-2013 05:32 PM

The Firearm Owners Protection Act prohibits the existence of a national registry. Background check information for all non-NFA firearms is temporary and cannot be kept on file indefinitely. Although, when purchasing a firearm using a background check, the buyers name is linked with the serial number of the firearm. That information is stored in the records of firearms dealers as required by the BATFE.